Music

Head of Department

Tackley, Professor Catherine Head of Department  0151 794 9908 Catherine.Tackley@liverpool.ac.uk 

Academic Staff

Carey, Dr Liam Lecturer in Music Technology  0151 795 1179 Liam.Carey@liverpool.ac.uk 
Coutinho, Dr Eduardo Senior Lecturer in Music Psychology  0151 795 8558 E.Coutinho@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cohen, Professor Sara James and Constance Alsop Chair in Music; Director of the Institute of Popular Music; Director of Research  0151 794 3820 Sara@liverpool.ac.uk 
Carman, Dr Oliver Lecturer in Music Technology   0151 794 9934 Oliver.Carman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Ellinson, Mrs Louise Choral Director  0151 795 1180 Louise.Ellinson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fairclough, Professor Matthew Director of Music Technology  0151 794 3069 Mattf@liverpool.ac.uk 
Flynn, Mr Mathew Lecturer in Music Industries  0151 795 8600 Mathew.Flynn2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smith, Professor Kenneth Professor of Theory and Analysis; Admissions Tutor  0151 794 2647 Kenneth.Smith@liverpool.ac.uk 
Frizell, Mr Andrew Lecturer in Popular Music Performance  0151 795 0648 afrizell@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hackbarth, Dr Ben Director of Interdisciplinary Centre for Composition & Technology, Senior Lecturer and Head of Composition  0151 794 3099 B.Hackbarth@liverpool.ac.uk 
Holmes, Mr John Lecturer in Music Technology  0151 795 1178 John.Holmes@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hooper, Dr Giles Senior Lecturer in Musicology  0151 794 3095 Giles.Hooper@liverpool.ac.uk 
James, Dr Toni Lecturer in Classical Performance  Toni.James@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jarman, Dr Freya Reader in Critical Musicology  0151 794 3066 F.Jarman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jones, Dr Michael Senior Lecturer in Music Industries  0151 794 2939 Eben@liverpool.ac.uk 
Leonard, Dr Marion Senior Lecturer in Popular Music Studies  0151 794 6972 Marionl@liverpool.ac.uk 
Minton, Miss Ruth Lecturer in Classical Performance   Ruth.Minton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Simmons, Dr Andrew Lecturer in Film Music Composition  Andrew.Simmons2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Singh, Dr Simran Leverhulme Early Career Fellow  Simran.Singh@liverpool.ac.uk 
Spitzer, Professor Michael Professor of Theory and Analysis  0151 794 3078 Michael.Spitzer@liverpool.ac.uk 
Stafford, Mr Simon Lecturer in Popular Music Performance and Head of Popular Music Performance  0151 795 0648 S.Stafford@liverpool.ac.uk 
Strachan, Dr Robert Senior Lecturer in Popular Music Studies  0151 794 3247 R.Strachan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tessler, Dr Holly Lecturer in Music Industries  0151 795 7808 Holly.Tessler@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tsang, Dr Lee Lecturer in Classical Music Performance and Head of Classical Music Performance  0151 795 7544 Lee.Tsang@liverpool.ac.uk 
Turowski, Dr Paul Lecturer in Music for Digital Games  0151 794 3105 Paul.Turowski@liverpool.ac.uk 
Um, Dr Haekyung Senior Lecturer in Ethnomusicology  0151 794 3084 H.K.Um@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wang, Dr Weida Honorary Research Fellow  Weida.Wang2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Worth, Dr Richard Lecturer in Music and Popular Music; Admissions Tutor  0151 794 9936 Richard.Worth@liverpool.ac.uk 

Tung Auditorium at the Yoko Ono Lennon Centre

Hartwell, Mr Richard Artistic Director  Richard.Hartwell@liverpool.ac.uk 
Doyle, Miss Michele Front of House Venue Manager   Michele.Doyle@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bell, Miss Rachael   0783 304 9069 Rachael.Bell@liverpool.ac.uk 

Professional Services Contact Numbers

Beiert, Dr Michael Technical Services Coordinator (Music)  07807 106 921 M.Beiert1@liverpool.ac.uk 
Higgins, Mr Philip Technician  07584 441577 P.Higgins@liverpool.ac.uk 
Student Experience Team    0151 795 0500  

Liverpool University Music Society

General Enquiries    0151 794 2959  

Instrumental Tutors

Buckle, Ian Classical Piano
Burvill, Mandy Classical Clarinet
Cawdron, Gwendolyn Classical Viola
Cowen, Simon Classical Lower Brass
Evans, Jane Classical Oboe
Frampton, Ashley Classical Double Bass
Harland, Rachel Classical Voice
Jones, Gethyn Classical Cello
Kimmance, Tom Classical Piano
Lea, Richard Classical  Organ
McNulty, Elizabeth Classical Harp
Nash, Pamela Classical Harpsichord
Neish, Les Classical Tuba
Palmer, Matthew Classical Trumpet
Rudge, Kathryn Classical Voice
Slominska, Fiona Classical Flute
Steinmetz, Tony Classical Guitar
Thorp, Tom Classical Saxophone
Van Ingen, Judith Classical Violin
Winter, Richard Classical Percussion
Yates, Sam Classical Horn
Bailey, John Popular Guitar
Bowry, Carlo Popular Guitar
Culshaw, Gary Popular Bass Guitar
Dunsmore, Maria Popular Voice
Empsall, Dan Popular Guitar
Johnson, Robert Popular Guitar
Kelly, Brian Popular Guitar
Lewis, Adam Popular Bass Guitar
Pirnbaum, Tilo Popular Drums
Smith, Kate Popular Voice
Taft, Paul Popular Voice
Taft, Anne Popular Voice