Information for prospective students on the UK leaving the EU

We value our international student community. Every single student at the University contributes to our welcoming and diverse community and we will continue to take great pride in offering a truly international experience for all of our students.

With the ‘transition period’ now concluded, The UK is no longer a member of the EU. Many of you will have concerns about the impact of this change, but together with our partners in the sector and Universities UK, we have been doing a significant amount of work to prepare for Brexit and we are confident that we are well-prepared.

As we adapt to the new environment we will endeavour to keep you as up-to-date as possible on any changes that may affect you.

You may wish to keep abreast of the latest developments by monitoring the UK Council for International Student Affairs website, which summarises the pertinent updates from the government.

You can also contact our Admissions Team at or +44(0)151 794 3030.

Students from the Republic of Ireland

Following the end of the UK’s transition period on 31 December 2020, under a reciprocal arrangement between the UK and Irish governments, Irish students will continue to be treated as Home students for the purposes of tuition fee levels.

Immigration Advice

EU, EEA and Swiss nationals coming to the UK to study for longer than 6 months after 1 January 2021 will need to obtain a Student Visa to enter and remain in the UK. The Student Visa must be applied for prior to arriving in the UK. For further details please see our International Advice & Guidance webpage.