Swim England learn to swim

Swim England Framework

The Swim England Learn to Swim Framework is part of the Swim england Learn to Swim Pathway, the all-inclusive programme which takes the non swimmer from his or her first splash to developing confidence and competence in the water. 

Produced by Swim England to assist and support the delivery of swimming lessons, we feel it’s the best way to teach children to swim.

The Swim England Learn to Swim Pathway consists of four frameworks:  

  • ASA Foundation Framework
  • ASA Learn to Swim Framework (stages 1-7)
  • ASA Aquatic Skills Framework (stages 8-10)
  • ASA Adult Swimming Framework

Swim England Pre School Framework

Early years water confidence.  The emphasis is on development of basic motor skills and introduction to water and the swimming environment through fun and games.  Also includes a section for additional needs, for those swimmers who may need smaller steps.

Suggested age group
Birth – 5 years

Swim England Learn to Swim Framework

Stages 1-7.  Fundamental Movement Skills to equip the swimmers with skills to be confident, competent and safe in water.

Suggested age group
4/5 years to 9/11 years

Swim England Aquatic Skills Framework

Stages 8-10.  Fundamental Sports Skills, available in Competitive Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Rookie Lifesaving. 

Designed for the more competent swimmer who would like to try new opportunities.

Suggested age group:
Sections can be implemented at any stage once a swimmer has the right aquatic skills to complete the outcomes.

Swim England Adult Swimming Framwork

A framework to help design and deliver a comprehensive Adult Learn to Swim programme suitable for beginners, improvers and adult stroke sessions.

Suggested age group:
16 years+