Campus Football End-of-Season

Published on

Campus Football

Mathletico Madrid dominate the campus league

Mathletico Madrid have swept the board when it comes to Campus Football this year, securing the Division One titles in both the Sunday and Wednesday editions, as well as winning the 6-a-side league, going unbeaten all season.

Mathletico Madrid were also triumphant in winning both the 6-a-side and 11-a-side cup competitions, beating Picton FC 1-0 in the small-sided final, and Athletico International 3-2 in the 11-a-side final at Wyncote.

League Standings

In Wednesday’s Division One, Engineering Wednesday were Mathletico Madrid’s closest challengers as they finished just two points behind them in the title race. They were a comfortable five points clear of third-placed Law FC.

In Division Two, Politics B were champions, pipping Morton House FC by just one point. DEF Squad finished third, four points off the top and a point ahead of Athletico International.

Politics B Team

For the Sunday leagues, Engineering Sunday came within three points of Mathletico Madrid to finish second in Division One, with DEF Squad third. Dentists, Politics and Medics Blues were the best of the rest.

In Sunday’s Division Two, Rankin Veterans were the champions and Convocation were the runners-up.

Campus Awards

Mathletico Madrid predictably dominated the Team of the Season for Wednesday’s Division One, with six of their players making the eleven, including goalkeeper Dan Smart, who kept the most clean sheets in the division and conceded the fewest goals, and Sam Jeffries, who captained the side.

Vincent Barber-Stones, Jack Jeffries and Josh Winter were the other Mathletico Madrid players to make the Team of the Season.

Tom Moore (AEK Mathens), Andy Johnson (Herdman FC), Adam Shiffman (Law FC), Maxim Green (Politics FC) and Mike Armistead (Engineering Wednesday) made up the rest of the team.

Player of the Season for Division One was given to Zac Berry, who was also in the Team of the Season. Berry was the top scorer for the league with 17 goals.

Four Politics B players made the Team of the Season for Wednesday’s Division Two: Ashley Jones, Tristan Reuser, Aaron Digby and Owen Pollard. Dan Resendez represented Morton House FC, while Nick Cliffe from Life Sciences also made the cut.

Henry Barker (Herdman Athletic), John Griffin (Athletico International), Rilwan Mulero (DEF Squad) and Kitan Ogunnoiki (Engineering Seconds) made up the rest of the team.

George Dick, who was the eleventh player in the Team of the Season, scooped both Player of the Season and top goal scorer accolades, as he scored an incredible 27 times in nine matches for Morton House FC.

For Sunday’s leagues, in Division One, Ben Fox (DEF Squad) was top goal scorer and won the Player of the Season award.

He was in the Team of the Season along with Mike Armistead (Engineering), Sam Jeffries, Jack Jeffries (both Mathletico Madrid) and Nathan O’Sullivan (Politics A).

In Division Two, Player of the Season was Nick Cliffe (Life Sciences). He was also the top goal scorer in the division.

Joining him in the Team of the Season were Alex Dimy, Austin Pack (both Smithdown Abbey Spitfires), Steven Montelongo (Atletico International) and Dom Bill (50 Shades of Yellow).

Referee of the Year was awarded to Alex Barratt, for his excellent performances and dedication. Barratt refereed almost every week and was a reliable and well-regarded official throughout the entire year, culminating in him being selected as part of the team of officials who took charge of the Campus Cup final.

Teams wanting to participate in next year’s campus football leagues will be invited to do so in September, but can request more information by emailing Existing teams will be able to re-register in due course.


By Matt Addison