Christie Championships 2018 Winners!

Published on

Christie Champions 2018

Liverpool win the Christie Championships for the first time since 1991

The University of Liverpool have won the Christie Championships for the first time in 27 years, beating the Universities of Manchester and Leeds to the prize.

Manchester had won five of the previous six editions of the annual tournament, but Liverpool came out on top this time around, in a year when they were hosts.

Liverpool finished top of the leaderboard by 19 points, with victories coming in sports such as American football, climbing, cheerleading and water polo. Liverpool finished first in 21 sports overall in an incredible effort by all athletes involved across all days of the event.

Sport development manager Stuart Wade, who presented the awards ceremony, said: “I felt an overwhelming sense of pride and emotion as I announced our Christie victory in the Guild last night.

“27 years is a long time to bring the winners shield home but on a glorious day our student teams were up to the challenge. This caps off a hugely successful season which has seen our clubs bring home four national BUCS titles to date. 18 April 2018 will live long in everyone’s memory. Sport is able do this.”

The victory saw AU President Tom Milner presented with the main Christie Championships shield in front of representatives from all universities.

Winning the prize is the result of the hard work of all the AU clubs, their presidents and members who represented the university, and the staff at Sport Liverpool who have been planning the event for months, and who are involved in the organisation of all clubs.

Liverpool will look to retain their title next year when the University of Manchester host the event.


By Matt Addison

Twitter: @MattAddison97

Instagram / Snapchat: mattaddison97

Facebook: Matt Addison Football



Christie 2018 - Water Polo v Leeds Match Report

Christie 2018 - Football v Leeds Match Report