A Painting by Henri

Department of Public Health and Policy

Our Department is made up of research, clinical and administrative staff working across our research groups to deliver our cutting edge research

The Department of Health Services Research is a place where we inspire people to learn and achieve, enabling them to make the most of life. It is a place where people can do things that they never thought possible.

Just like our city, we celebrate individuality and ingenuity, energy and enterprise, and we see how ideas of one person can reverberate around the world.

By addressing some of the world’s toughest challenges, our research is helping to transform lives and make a real difference across the globe.

If you would like to join our team, please visit the University Jobs page for our current vacancies

Public Health and Policy

Our People

Sheard, Prof Sally Head of Department & Andrew Geddes and John Rankin Professor of Modern History  0151 794 4552 S.B.Sheard@liverpool.ac.uk 
McEvoy, Ms Sarah PA to Head of Department  0151 795 4249 S.E.Mcevoy@liverpool.ac.uk 
Alexiou, Dr Alexandros Research Associate  0151 795 7517 A.Alexiou@liverpool.ac.uk 
Al-Zarban, Mr Fayez PhD Student  0151 795 0133 F.Alzarban@liverpool.ac.uk 
Anderson De Cuevas, Dr Rachel Research Associate  0151 794 5755 R.Anderson-De-Cuevas@liverpool.ac.uk 
Atkinson, Dr Paul Research Associate   0151 794 5581 Paul.Atkinson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bailey, Ms Francesca Research Projects Administrator  0151 794 5570 F.Bailey@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bandosz, Dr Piotr Research Associate  0151 794 5420 P.Bandosz@liverpool.ac.uk 
Barr, Mr Benjamin Senior Clinical Lecturer  0151 794 5580 B.Barr@liverpool.ac.uk 
Begley, Dr Philip Lecturer in the History of Medicine  0151 794 5581 P.Begley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bentley, Dr Lee Research Associate  Lee.Bentley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bromley, Dr Helen Research Fellow  0151 794 5570 H.Bromley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bruce, Prof Nigel Honorary Professor of Public Health  Ngb@liverpool.ac.uk 
Buchan, Prof Iain Chair in Public Health and Clinical Informatics  buchan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Campbell, Ms Melisa Research Fellow  0151 794 9537 Melisa.Campbell@liverpool.ac.uk 
Capewell, Prof Simon Chair of Clinical Epidemiology  0790 801 6477 Capewell@liverpool.ac.uk 
Clough, Dr Helen Lecturer in Statistics  0151 795 8308 H.E.Clough@liverpool.ac.uk 
Collins, Mr Brendan Health Economist and Tenure Track Fellow  0151 794 5283 Brendan.Collins@liverpool.ac.uk 
Davies, Miss Laura Corporate Services Project Officer  0151 794 5434 Laura.Davies@liverpool.ac.uk 
Donaldson, Dr Anna Clinical Lecturer  A.Donaldson2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fleming, Dr Kate Senior Lecturer  0151 795 8300 Kate.Fleming@liverpool.ac.uk 
Guzman Castillo, Dr Maria Research Associate  0151 795 5457 M.Guzman-Castillo@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hardstaff, Dr Jo Research Associate  0151 795 8324 J.Hardstaff@liverpool.ac.uk 
Harris, Dr John Lecturer in Health Protection  0151 794 9779 John.Harris@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hyseni, Miss Lirije Research Assistant  0151 794 5278 L.Hyseni@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jacoby, Em P Ann Honorary Professor  0151 794 5602 Ajacoby@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kierans, Dr Ciara Reader in Medical Anthropology  0151 794 5602 C.Kierans@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kypridemos, Dr Christodoulos Lecturer  0151 795 0436 C.Kypridemos@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lai, Dr Eric Research Associate  0151 795 8302 Eric.Lai@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rodgers, Prof Sarah   0151 795 8310 Sarah.Rodgers@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lambert, Dr Michael Research Associate  M.H.Lambert@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lloyd-Williams, Dr Ffion Research Fellow  0151 794 5303 F.Lloydwilliams@liverpool.ac.uk 
Maheswaran, Dr Hendy Senior Clinical Lecturer in Public Health  0151 794 5118 H.Maheswaran2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Maudsley, Dr Gillian Senior Clinical Lecturer in Public Health Medicine   
Meysner, Ms S PhD Student   
McGarrol, Dr Sarah Postdoctoral Research Associate  0151 794 9792 Sarah.Mcgarrol@liverpool.ac.uk 
Mchale, Dr Philip Clinical Lecturer in Public Health and Policy  0151 795 2613 P.Mchale@liverpool.ac.uk 
O'Brien, Prof Sarah Professor of Epidemiology and Population Health  0151 795 8301 S.J.Obrien@liverpool.ac.uk 
O'Flaherty, Prof Martin Professor in Epidemiology and Health Services Research  0151 795 4129 Moflaher@liverpool.ac.uk 
Orton, Dr Lois Senior Research Fellow  0151 794 5611 L.C.Orton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Padilla Altamira, Mr Cesar PhD Student  33 2304 2775 C.Padilla-Altamira@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pearson-Stuttard, Dr Jonathan Research Fellow  Jonathan.Pearson-Stuttard@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pennington, Mr Andy Research Fellow and PhD Student  0151 794 5579 Ajpenn@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pope, Prof Daniel Senior Lecturer in Epidemiology  0151 794 5522 Danpope@liverpool.ac.uk 
Povall, Dr Sue Research Fellow  0151 794 4782 S.L.Povall@liverpool.ac.uk 
Puzzolo, Dr Elisa Co-Director of CLEAN-Air NIHR Global Health Research Group  Elisa.Puzzolo@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rehsmann, Ms J Visiting PhD Student, University of Bern   
Rose, Dr Tanith Research Associate in Health Data Analysis  0151 795 8313 Tanith.Rose@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rodgers, Prof Sarah Professor of Health Informatics  Sarah.Rodgers@liverpool.ac.uk 
Ronzi, Dr Sara Postdoctoral Research Associate in Global Public Health  0151 795 0132 S.Ronzi@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rotheram, Mrs Suzanne PhD Student  0151 795 8326 S.Rotheram@liverpool.ac.uk 
Schofield, Dr Pietà Postdoctoral Research Associate  Pieta.Schofield@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smith, Miss Shelda-Jane PhD Student  0151 795 0131 Shelda-Jane.Smith@liverpool.ac.uk 
Taylor-Robinson, Prof David Professor of Public Health and Policy, Honorary Consultant in Child Public Health  0151 794 5594 David.Taylor-Robinson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Whitehead, Prof Dame Margaret WH Duncan Professor for Public Health  0151 794 5280 Mmw@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wickham, Dr Sophie Wellcome Trust Research Fellow  0151 795 8315 S.Wickham@liverpool.ac.uk 
Williams, Mr Steven Research Project Manager  0151 795 8311 Steven.Williams@liverpool.ac.uk 

Master of Public Health Programme staff

Watkins, Dr Francine Senior Lecturer & Director of MPH Programmes   0151 794 4783 Fwatkins@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bates, Dr Vickie Lecturer & Director of Studies Online MPH Programme  0151 794 4215 Victoria.Bates@liverpool.ac.uk 
Chinouya, Dr Martha Lecturer MPH Programmes  020 7682 4654 Martha.Chinouya@liverpool.ac.uk 
Day, Dr Jennie Lecturer & Director of Studies Liverpool Campus MPH Programme   0151 794 5281 J.Day@liverpool.ac.uk 
Green, Mr Thomas Programme Administrator  0151 794 8255 Thomas.Green@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jehan, Dr Kate Lecturer MPH Programmes  0151 794 5281 K.Jehan@liverpool.ac.uk 

Visiting and Emeritus Professors

Ashton, Prof John Visiting Professor   
Dahlgren, Prof Goran Visiting Professor   
Diderichsen, Prof Finn Visiting Professor   
Hawe, Prof Penny Visiting Professor   
Jacoby, Prof Ann Emeritus Professor   
Moreira, Prof Patricia Visiting Professor   
Petticrew, Prof Mark Visiting Professor   
Popay, Prof Jennie Visiting Professor   
Shiell, Prof Alan Visiting Professor