PhD research

Find out more about our current PhD students and their research topics.

Peter Andersen

Post Graduate Research Student

P.Andersen@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile 

Thesis Title:

"Do party leaders have differential effects over sub-sections of the UK electorate in British General Elections


Rachel Brock

Rachel Brock

Postgraduate Research Student

R.Brock@liverpool.ac.uk 

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Examining the impact of biometric surveillance technology on the political efficacy, civil rights, and protest behaviour of dissident individuals in the U.S."


Steven Daniels

Postgraduate Research Student

Sjd@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title: 

"The Thatcher Government and the Decline of the National Union of Mineworkers, c.1985-1990"


Vanessa Margarete Gottwick

Postgraduate Research Student

V.Gottwick@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"The Process of Internal Conflict Diffusion: Neighbours at War & Mercenary Mobilisation in Sub-Saharan Africa from 1980 to 2016"


Leila-Clare Kellgren-Parker

Postgraduate Research Student

hslkellg@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Lending a helping hand? How different state actors impact civil war."


Charlotte Penel

Postgraduate Research Student

C.Penel@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"The Transformation of the Market for Force of Commercial Military Security Actors."


Demi Smoloktou

Post Graduate Research Student

D.Smoloktou@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile 

Thesis Title:

"The implementation of the Modern Slavery Act 2015 in the business sector; evaluating current practice, developing new methods for tackling forced labour and exploitation, and understanding the role of state and non-state actors in this context".


Alexandra Williams-Woods

Postgraduate Research Student

a.williams-woods@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Abolition and Agenda: An investigation into human trafficking and modern slavery and the connection between 'ideas', policy outputs and victim outcomes."


Asmar Yusifova

Postgraduate Research Student

asmaryu@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Internally displaced persons in Ukraine in the context of international political discourse."