PhD research

Find out more about our current PhD students and their research topics.

Danny Bowman

Postgraduate Research Student

d.bowman@liverpool.ac.uk 

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Mental Health Policy in the United Kingdom from the Perspectives of Advocates, Civil Society and Politics Elites in the 21st Century"


Rachel Brock

Postgraduate Research Student

R.Brock@liverpool.ac.uk 

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Examining the impact of biometric surveillance technology on the political efficacy, civil rights, and protest behaviour of dissident individuals in the U.S."


Liza Caruana-Finkel

Postgraduate Research Student

L.Caruana-Finkel@liverpool.ac.uk 

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"The social life of abortion stigma in Malta: how abortion narratives are collectively created and contested"


Sarah Elmammeri

Postgraduate Research Student

Sarah.Elmammeri@liverpool.ac.uk 

 

Thesis Title:

"Bordes and historical legacies; the journey of a postcolonial subject"


Billie Fletcher

Postgraduate Research Student

billie.fletcher@liverpool.ac.uk 

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Working-class women’s activism after industrial action: Lancastrian women of the miners’ strike and the female cotton workers"


Sam Glasper

Postgraduate Research Student

sam.glasper@liverpool.ac.uk 

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"The Sun Shall Set – New Left and the Decline of Empire: The Politics of Race and Revolution in the British Class War"


Leila-Clare Kellgren-Parker

Postgraduate Research Student

hslkellg@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Lending a helping hand? How different state actors impact civil war."


Enis Porat

Postgraduate Research Student

Enis.Porat@liverpool.ac.uk 

Thesis Title:

"Patterns and Determinants of Political Participation: A Comparative Analysis of Turkish Migrants of Europe"


Demi Smoloktou

Post Graduate Research Student

D.Smoloktou@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile 

Thesis Title:

"The implementation of the Modern Slavery Act 2015 in the business sector; evaluating current practice, developing new methods for tackling forced labour and exploitation, and understanding the role of state and non-state actors in this context".


Asmar Yusifova

Postgraduate Research Student

asmaryu@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Internally displaced persons in Ukraine in the context of international political discourse."