Ensemble of St Luke's

Lunchtime Concert Series: The Ensemble of St Luke’s

Wednesday 18 March, 1pm-2pm
Victoria Gallery & Museum, University of Liverpool

The programme includes String Quartet no.5 op.27 by Mieczyslaw Weinberg and a quartet by Liverpool-based composer Ian Stephens, Springhead Echoes.

The Ensemble of St Luke’s was formed in 1992 when a group of friends from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra  - Alexander Marks and Elizabeth Lamberton (violins), Alex Mitchell (viola) and Gethyn Jones (cello) - got together informally to raise money for St Luke’s Church in Crosby. In 2014 they were the first chamber group to feature at the Liverpool International Music Festival.

Pixels Ensemble
Pixels Ensemble

Lunchtime Concert Series: Pixels Ensemble

Classical and contemporary chamber music with Sophie Rosa (violin) Alex Holladay (cello) and Ian Buckle (piano). The programme includes Arcangelo Corelli’s Sonata in F, op 5 no 4 for violin and cello; Igor Stravinsky’s Suite Italienne (selection of movements from version for violin and piano); Luciano Berio‘s Sequenza XIV for cello and Timothy Jackson’s Continuo, for violin solo with cello and piano.

Back to: Open House