# University Approval Panel Terms of Reference and Membership 2023/24

(Secretary: Liz McAleer, AQSD, e.mcaleer@liverpool.ac.uk)

## **Terms of Reference**

- 1. To approve proposals for new UoL programmes and revalidate UoL programmes that have been changed, in accordance with University programme approval processes.
- 2. To approve XJTLU programmes leading to a dual award from UoL and XJTLU.

# **Reporting Relationship**

The University Approval Panel reports to Senate, and refers matters to the Academic Quality and Standards Committee as appropriate.

# **Frequency of Meetings**

The University Approval Panel is expected to meet eight times in 2022-23, with one of those meetings intended for the approval of XJTLU programmes leading to a dual UoL and XJTLU award for undergraduate programmes or a single UoL award for postgraduate programmes.

### The Panel

The panel shall comprise a chair, three representatives from academic staff, one representative from professional services, one representative from the Centre for Innovation in Education, one representative from the Liverpool Guild of Students, the Director of AQSD.

## Quorum

The quorum for meetings of the University Approval Panel shall be four panel members.

### **Members**

1 x Chair	Selected from
	The PVC for Education
	The APVC for Education HLS
	The APVC for Education HSS
	The APVC for Education SE
	Additional chairs to be added as nominated by the APVCs
3 x Academic Staff	Selected from:
	Professor Louise Almond (HLS)
	Professor Robert Blackwood (HSS)
	Dr Gayle Brewer (HLS)
	Dr Sebastian Dembski (SE)
	Professor Alex German (HLS)
	Dr Joel Haddley (SE)
	Dr Lynn Hancock (HSS)
	Dr David Hutchcroft (SE)
	Professor Viktoria Goddard (HLS)
	Dr Carl Larsen (HLS)
	Dr Stuart MacKay (HLS)
	Dr Matt Murphy (SE)
	Dr Andrew Plowman (HSS)

	Professor Denise Prescott (HLS)
	Professor Anthony Sinclair (HSS)
	Professor Rob Stokes (HSS)
	Professor Susanne Voelkel (HLS)
	Dr Iain Young (HLS)
1 x Professional Services Representative	Selected from:
	Faculty of Health and Life Sciences
	Mrs Rachael Atkins (Life Sciences)
	Mrs Jackie Bradshaw (Psychology)
	Mr Jack Shepherd (HLS Education Directorate)
	Mrs Jan Vicary (Health Sciences)
	, ,
	Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
	Miss Kathryn Beech (HLC)
	Miss Rebekah Hughes (ULMS)
	Mrs Sarah Isenberg (ULMS)
	Ms Jane Lloyd (Arts)
	Faculty of Science and Engineering
	Ms Emma Carter-Brown (Faculty SE)
	Dr Chris Egan (Physical Sciences)
	Ms Louisa Parry (Engineering)
	Mrs Laura Birchall (Environmental Sciences)
	Miss Claire Rimmer (Environmental Sciences)
1 x LGoS Representative	Selected from:
	Miss Vasiliki Samuels
	Miss Kathryn Manley
	Miss Lina Dubbins
	Miss Ella Hatch
1 x Representative from the Centre for	Selected from:
Innovation in Education	NAs Niels Durauses
	Mr Nick Bunyan
	Ms Joanna Cheetham
	Mrs Ceri Coulby
	Mr Nick Greer
	Dr Tunde Varga-Atkins
Director of AQSD	Ms Trish Barker
טווכננטו טו אעטט	ואוט וווטוו שמואכו