Sustainability Governance VIVERPOOL

Climate Action Group

Terms of Reference

The Climate Action Working Group is an interdisciplinary group of faculty, staff and student dedicated to identifying solutions addressing the urgent action needed to adapt to and mitigate against the global climate change. The group heightens the awareness of the consequences of climate change and provides leadership about action through research, education and engagement activities.

The group will report directly to the Sustainability Board.

Key areas of activity for the group are:

- To identify options for delivering a net zero campus by 2035
- To review and update the Carbon Management Plan to 2030
- To monitor utility consumption (including carbon compliance)
- To forecast university carbon emissions and highlight risks and opportunities
- To develop carbon reduction projects that will engage staff and students and enhance their university experience
- To develop and review the Climate Change Adaptation Plan

Membership

Prof Karl Whittle	School of Engineering – CHAIR
Roger Bickerstaff	Commercial Accountant, ULEC
Peter Birch	Engineering Services Manager
Clare Casey	Sustainability Officer
Imogen De Castro Gray	Guild Officer
Chloe Field	Guild Officer
Rachael Hanmer-Dwight	Carbon Compliance Officer (Sustainability Lead for group)
Prof Laurence Hardwick	Stephenson Institute for Renewable Energy
Prof Anthony Hollander	PVC for Research and Impact & FSLT Representative
Darren Mooney	The Academy
Tom O'Brien	Project Manager, Design Team
Prof Andy Plater	School of Environmental Science
TBC	TU Representative

In Attendance

Other members of relevant departments will be invited to attend as is deemed necessary by the Chair.

Frequency of Meetings

The Climate Action Working Group meets on four occasions throughout the year. **Quorum**

The quorum for meetings of the Climate Action Working Group shall be three members.