PhD research

Find out more about our current PhD students' research topics and read their research blog posts.

Peter Buckles

Postgraduate Research Student

P.Buckles@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title: 

"The French Wars and their impact on Merchant Trade Networks in Bristol, Bordeaux and New York, 1783-1830."


Jacquelyn Frith-Crofts

Postgraduate Research Student

Jacquelyn.Frith-Crofts@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"British Far East Prisoners of War on the Moluccan Islands of Ambon, Haruku and Ceram, and related Japanese War Crimes 1943-1949."


Michelle Girvan

Postgraduate Research Student

M.Girvan@liverpool.ac.uk 

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

Charity, Piety and Commerce: The Liverpool Blue Coat School and Pragmatic Politeness, 1708–1796."


Emily Gibbs

Postgraduate Research Student

E.Gibbs@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title: 

"Uncovering, understanding, and disassembling British Nuclear Anxiety, 1952-1989 and beyond."


Synthia Hynes

Postgraduate Research Student

Synthia.Hynes@liverpool.ac.uk 

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"The English Ambassadress in a Cosmopolitan World: Women, Diplomacy and Politics in the Long 18th Century" 


Ian Jones

Postgraduate Research Student

theseus@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile 

Thesis Title:

"Using the past: Authenticity, reliability, and the role of archives in Barclays plc’s use of the past strategies"


Kerrie McGiveron

Postgraduate Research Student

k.j.mcgiveron@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"What is a Big Flame Group? Uncovering a radical, internationalist socialist-feminist organisation, 1970-1984."


Danica Ramsey-Brimberg

Postgraduate Research Student

 D.Ramsey-Brimberg@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"The Powers That Be: Viking and Ecclesiastical Interactions in the Irish Sea Area from the Ninth to Eleventh Centuries”


Amy Solomons

Postgraduate Research Student

amyjs@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Books for Everyone? National Trust Libraries and their Reading Communities in the Long Eighteenth Century"

Richard Smith

Postgraduate Research Student

r.g.smith@liverpool.ac.uk

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Opposing Pinochat: The causes and concequences of protest in Santiago de Chile in the 1980s"


Justice Ujoumunna

Postgraduate Research Student

J.C.Ujoumunna@liverpool.ac.uk 

Web Profile

Thesis Title:

"Digital Evidence in the Nigerian Legal System: Admissibility and Evidential Weight of Digital Records"