Liverpool Banner image


Liverpool Centre of Cardiovascular Science Staff

Our team of experienced and multidiscipline clinicians, researchers and administrators aim to tackle the effect of cardiovascular disease in the Liverpool region and beyond.

 

Core Staff

 

Resized Greg Lip IMG

Professor Gregory Lip

Price-Evans Chair of
Cardiovascular Medicine
University of Liverpool

Diedre Lane Resized IMG

Dr Deirdre Lane

Reader in Cardiovascular
Health

Paul Burdett

Paul Burdett

Project Manager

Keith Wilson

Keith Wilson

Patient Representative

 

Professors

   

Ian Jones

Professor of Cardiovascular Nursing & Associate Dean for Research

I.D.Jones@ljmu.ac.uk 

Attilio Lotto

Professor in Congenital Cardiac Surgery

Attilio.Lotto@alderhey.nhs.uk

Martin Enrique O'Flaherty

Professor in Public Health and Policy

moflaher@liverpool.ac.uk 

Nefyn H Williams

Professor in Primary Care

Nefyn.williams@liverpool.ac.uk 

Keith George

Professor and Associate Dean for Research

k.george@ljmu.ac.uk 

Joanne Blair

Professor in Endocrinology

jo.blair@alderhey.nhs.uk 

Iain Buchan

Professor in Public Health and Policy

buchan@liverpool.ac.uk 

Helen Jones

Professor in Sports and Exercise Science

h.jones@ljmu.ac.uk 

Sarah Elizabeth Rodgers

Professor of Health Informatics

sarah.rodgers@liverpool.ac.uk 

Dick Thijssen

Professor in Cardiovascular Physiology and Exercise

d.thijssen@ljmu.ac.uk 

George Bou-Gharios

Professor of Matrix Biology

ggharios@liverpool.ac.uk 

Paulo Lisboa

Professor in Applied Mathmatics

P.J.Lisboa@ljmu.ac.uk 

     

Readers

 

 

David Oxborough

Reader in Cardiovascular Physiology

D.Oxborough@ljmu.ac.uk 

Yalin Zheng

Reader

yzheng@liverpool.ac.uk 

Ingeborg Welters

Reader

I.Welters@liverpool.ac.uk 

     

Senior Lecturers/ Lecturers

 

 

Riaz Akhtar

Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering

rakhtar@liverpool.ac.uk 

Alistair Fielding

Senior Lecturer in Pharmacy and Biomolecular Science

a.j.fielding@ljmu.ac.uk 

Eduard Shantsila

Senior Lecturer in Cardiovascular Science

shantsila@liverpool.ac.uk 

Robyn Lotto

Senior Lecturer in Nursing and Allied Health

r.r.lotto@ljmu.ac.uk 

Takao Sakai

Senior Lecturer in Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology

sakait@liverpool.ac.uk 

Benjamin Buckley

Lecturer in Physical Activity, Public Health & Cardiovascular Physiology

b.j.buckley@ljmu.ac.uk 

Paula Watson

Senior Lecturer in Exercise and Health Physiology 

p.m.watson@ljmu.ac.uk 

Peter Edward Penson

Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology and Pharmacy Practice

p.penson@ljmu.ac.uk 

Iain Dykes

Senior Lecturer in Molecular Biology

i.m.dykes@ljmu.ac.uk 

Gabriela Czanner

Senior Lecturer in Statistics and Data Science

g.czanner@ljmu.ac.uk 

Parveen Sharma

Lecturer in Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology

PSharma@liverpool.ac.uk

Jill Madine

Lecturer in Biology

J.Madine@liverpool.ac.uk

Marco Proietti

Senior Visiting Fellow

Marco.Proietti@liverpool.ac.uk 

     
Tenure Track Fellows    
Alena Shantsila Tenure Track Fellow s.shantsila@liverpool.ac.uk
Stephanie Harrison Tenure Track Fellow Stephanie.Harrison@liverpool.ac.uk 
Laura Jayne Bonnett Tenure Track Fellow L.J.Bonnett@liverpool.ac.uk 
Masoud Isanejad Tenure Track Fellow m.isanejad@liverpool.ac.uk 
Nordine Helassa British Heart Foundation Fellow/Tenure Track Fellow nhelassa@liverpool.ac.uk 
     

Postdoctoral Fellows

 

 

Nicola Tidbury

Postdoctoral Fellow

Nicola.Tidbury@lhch.nhs.uk

Hannah Davies

Postdoctoral Fellow

h.davies1@liverpool.ac.uk 

Rehan Junejo

Postdoctoral Fellow

T.Junejo@bham.ac.uk

Monika Koziel

Postdoctoral Clinical Research Fellow

kozielmonika@poczta.fm 

Matthew Shaw

Postdoctoral Fellow

matthew.shaw@lhch.nhs.uk 

     

Research Fellow

 

 

Jakup Gumprecht

Research Fellow

J.Gumprecht@liverpool.ac.uk

Magdealena Domek

Research Fellow

M.Domek@liverpool.ac.uk

Liam Mullen

Research Fellow

Liam.mullen@lhch.nhs.uk 

Wern Ding

Research Fellow / PhD Candidate

dwyew@liverpool.ac.uk 

Shuguang Qin

Honrary Research Fellow

604311103@163.com 

Marco Vitolo

Research Fellow

marco.vitolo90@gmail.com 

 

 

 

PhD and Masters students

 

 

Gabriela Roberts

PhD student

Gabriela.Roberts@liverpool.ac.uk

Tariq Al Bahhawi

PhD Student

T.al-bahhawi@liverpool.ac.uk 

Mark Pieroni

PhD Student

M.Pierioni@2018.ljmu.ac.uk 

Josh Preston

PhD Student

Joshua.Preston@liverpool.ac.uk 

Arron Peace

PhD Student

A.T.Peace@2016.ljmu.ac.uk 

Reem Alsharari

PhD Student

alshararire@gmail.com 

Azhar Akhmimi

PhD Student

Azhar.Akhmimi@liverpool.ac.uk 

Leona Ritchie

PhD Student

leona.ritchie@nhs.net 

Shaneel Patel

PhD Student

shaneel.patel@nhs.net 

Oluwakayode Oke

Masters Student

O.Oke2@liverpool.ac.uk 

Andrew Morrison

Research Associate

a.morrison@nhs.net 

 

Associate Members

 

Rodney Stables

Honorary Professor r.stables@liverpool.ac.uk 

David Justin Wright

Honorary Senior Lecturer david.wright@lhch.nhs.uk 

Asangaedem Akpan

Honorary Professor asangaedem.akpan@liverpool.ac.uk 

Dhiraj Gupta

Honorary Professor dhiraj@liverpool.ac.uk 

Mark field

Honorary Associate Professor

Mark.Field@lhch.nhs.uk 

Scott W Murray

Senior Clinical Lecturer  scott.murray@rlbuht.nhs.uk 

Manuel Ari

Sleep and Ventilation Consultant

Ari.Manuel@liverpool.ac.uk 

Sonya Craig

Sleep and Ventilation consultant

Sonya.Craig@liverpool.ac.uk 

Bil Kirmani

Consultant Cardiac Surgeon

bil.kirmani@lhch.nhs.uk 

Tim Fairbairn

Consultant Cardiologist (Imaging)

Timothy.Fairbairn@liverpool.ac.uk

Saagar Mahida

Consultant Cardiologist

Saagar.mahida@lhch.nhs.uk