Scientists in lab

Technology, Infrastructure and Environment Directorate

The Technology, Infrastructure and Environment Directorate provides key underpinning support for the Faculty's teaching and research, managing our Shared Research Facilities, estate and associated regulatory and compliance responsibilities, supporting our technical and scientific staff and strengthening equality, diversity and inclusion across the Faculty.

Led by Professor Ian Prior, the Directorate for Technology, Infrastructure and Environment is one of four that provide support and planning across the Faculty, to its institutes, research centres, staff and students. The Directorate covers six main areas: 

Shared Research Facilities (LIV-SRF)

A significant part of the Directorate is the Liverpool Shared Research Facilities (LIV-SRF), which provides our major research facilities across the Faculty and externally. 

Faculty Environment

We provide strategy and oversight to develop an inclusive and connected Faculty, through focussing on equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI), including the Athena SWAN and Race Equality Charters, Team Science and our participation in major University and sector initiatives.

Technical and scientific staff

Workforce planning for technical staff across the Faculty, access to career progression, skills training and continuing professional development and our participation in the Technician Commitment.

Safety and Regulatory Compliance

Providing Faculty governance, connectivity and systems in areas such as safety and risk management, business continuity and sustainability. 

Infrastructure and Estates

Working closely with the University Estates teams to ensure planning and delivery of maintenance and space management to large multi-million capital projects.

Research Computing

We provide research computing capabilities to Faculty colleagues and their partners. This includes technical support for the research lifecycle, project management, consultancy, software development and the support of research infrastructure and applications. 

Key Contacts

APVC for Technology, Infrastructure & Environment and Director of Liverpool Shared Research Facilities (LIV-SRF) Professor Ian Prior
Deputy Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor Professor Judy Coulson
Head of Home Office Facilities Professor Eithne Comerford
Programme Director (HLS Infrastructure Masterplan) Dr Chris French
Strategic Technical Lead, HLS Jan Brett
Research IT Systems Manager Andrew Collins
Safety, Risk & Compliance Officer Gareth Roberts
Infrastructure and Facilities Officer Agnieszka Wegiel
Head of Technology, Infrastructure and Environment Directorate Ben Mollitt
Liverpool Shared Research Facilities (LIV-SRF) Technical Operations Lead and Business Manager Victoria Harman
Liverpool Shared Research Facilities (LIV-SRF) Business Support Officer Claire Fagan
Liverpool Shared Research Facilities (LIV-SRF) Administrator Sue Monaghan
Animal Health Officer Ewan Birnie
Directorate PA


Back to: Faculty of Health and Life Sciences