Committee description

Council is the University’s governing body, and has ultimate responsibility for the management of the University, its status as a body in receipt of public funds, and its status as an exempt Charity. It has a membership of 21, including, senior managers, representatives of Senate and the Professional Services, the President of the Guild of Students, and a majority of lay members (who are neither employees nor students of the University).

The President of Council is drawn from the lay membership and chairs its meetings. The current President of Council is The Earl of Derby, DL.

Council has four business meetings a year, and two Away Days. 

Primary responsibilities

Council’s powers and duties are detailed in Statute 9 of the University’s Statutory Framework.

Members or key people

Clerk to the Council: Dr A Fairclough

Ex Officio Members

The Vice-Chancellor Professor Dame Janet Beer, BA, MA, PhD
The Chief Operating Officer Mrs Jenny Tucker BSc, DipBS
Two of the Pro-Vice-Chancellors
Professor Gavin Brown, BSc, PhD
Professor Anthony Hollander, BSc, PhD
The President of the Guild of Students Mr Rory Hughes, BA

Twelve Lay Members (including the President and Vice-President of the Council) appointed by the Council

Mrs Carmel Booth, BA, FCA (2016-2019)

Mr Sam Butler, BA, MSc (2017-2020)

The Earl of Derby, DL (2017-2020) (President)
Mr Ed Fishwick (2017-2020)
Mr Christopher Graham, BA (2016-2019) (Vice-President)
Dr Paul Johnson, BSc, PhD (2017-2020)
Mrs Helen Miller BA, CIPD (2018-2021)
Mr Norman Molyneux MA, FCMA (2018-2021)
Dr Roger Platt, BSc, PhD, MA, PhD (2017-2020)
Mrs Abila Pointing, MBE, DL, MA (2016-2019)
Dr Andrew Scott, MA, DPhil (2017-2020)

Mrs Patricia Young, BA (2016-2019)

Three members of the Senate, two appointed by the Council on the recommendation of the Nominations Committee and one elected from and by Senate’s elected membership

Professor Julia Balogun, BSc, PhD, MBA (appointed 2018-2021)
Professor Susan Dawson, BVMS, PhD, MRCVS (appointed 2016-2019)
Professor Bruce Gibson, MA, DPhil (elected 2017-2020)

One member of the Professional Services Staff appointed by the Council on the recommendation of the Nominations Committee

Mr Kieran O'Sullivan, BA (appointed 2018-2021)

Meeting dates

Dates for the current session are as follows:

  • 21 November 2018, 2.00 pm
  • 5 February 2019, 2.00 pm
  • 10 April 2019, Away Day
  • 22 May 2019, 2.00 pm
  • 9 July 2019, 2.00 pm

A full schedule of Committee meeting dates can be viewed here.


You can download the minutes of our Council's recent business meetings below: