Common questions

What is the difference between my M drive and a workspace?

A workspace in DatAnywhere is a link to an existing folder on your M drive. When you create a workspace in DatAnywhere it will not create a folder on your M drive.

[back to top]

Can I create folders and files in DatAnywhere or do I need to create them on my M drive first?

You can create folders on your M drive using the DatAnywhere web portal; these will sync back with your M drive. You can also directly upload files to your M drive from your own device, and these will also sync back to your M drive.

[back to top]

What are my 'home folders'?

'Home folders' is your M drive. Leave this unchecked when asked if you would like to add your home folders to any workspace you create.

[back to top]

Can I select which folders on my M drive I want to sync?

Yes, you can specify which folders you would like to sync if you do not wish to sync your entire M drive. Whether you are using the web portal, or one of the standalone clients on your device, you can expand the folder structure on your M drive and your username and select just those folders you wish to sync. The image below shows this in the Windows standalone client:

Windows - sync specified folders

[back to top]

Why do people get an 'access denied' error when I share a workspace with them?

Anyone with whom you share a workspace must also have permission to access the folders and files within that workspace, on your M drive. Otherwise, they can access the workspace but not the folders or files that it points to on your M drive. You can check to see if you have set up permissions by using MyDrives.

[back to top]

If I select to delete the synced folder on my local PC/Mac will this delete the data from my M Drive?

YES, if you highlight the top folder, or select all the folders in the synchronised folder and choose to delete you will see this message:

- DELETE FROM SERVER – ARE YOU SURE YOU WANT TO PERMANENTLY DELETE THE SELECTED ITEMS FROM THE SERVER.

If you select YES then it will proceed to delete all the files from your M Drive.

DatAnywhere - FAQ - delete M Drive

[back to top]

On my Windows/Mac client I see "file Modified, Created and Deleted by Unidentified user" - what does this mean?

These refer to changes made on your M Drive directly via MWS. If you make a change on the synchronised Windows PC or Mac you will see your name next to it. So you will see a lot of the "Unidentified user" messages on first synchronisation but less in future as only files which have changed will be synced.

DatAnywhere - FAQ - file modified 

[back to top]

On my Mac client I see an exclamation mark next to my M Drive - is synchronisation still working?

Synchronisation is still working, however, not every file has synchronised and this is why you see the exclamation mark. This could happen if files are open on your M Drive.

If you click on your synchronised M Drive you will probably see lots of files/folders ticked, but you may see the odd one which has the exclamation mark against it. By placing the explanation mark again your M Drive at the top level it’s letting you know that not every file has synchronised.

DatAnywhere - FAQ - Mac exclamation 2

[back to top]

How do I stop the desktop notifications from appearing on my Mac\Windows PC?

If you are using Microsoft Windows, right click the DatAnywhere icon in system Tray and choose Settings > Basic. Un-tick the box for Show desktop notifications.

DatAnywhere - FAQ - notifications 1

If you are using Mac OS, click on the DatAnywhere icon in the menu bar and choose Settings > General. Un-tick the box for Show desktop notifications.

DatAnywhere - FAQ - notifications 2

[back to top]

What are Collisions and how do I deal with them?

Collisions occur when the file on your M Drive is newer than the version you are synchronising with the server. This usually happens when other users have access to the same file in collaboration. You have the choice of:

  • opening the file in your synced folder;
  • opening the Server file version (on your M Drive);
  • saving your File version (overwrite the file on your M Drive), or
  • save the server file version (ignore changed made in the file in the synced folder).

DatAnywhere - FAQ - collisions

[back to top]

What happens if I lose my device or if it is stolen?

You should inform the CSD Service Desk as soon as possible and ask for the device to be blocked/wiped. You can do this yourself if you have synced your device with your University email, by using the Wipe Device tool in Webmail.

Once you have reported the loss to Computing Services, we can quickly block access to the DatAnywhere application and remotely wipe any files you have downloaded or set as a favourite.

NOTE: This does not affect any other application or block access to the device itself.

Once the device has been blocked, anyone trying to access your DatAnywhere account will see an error advising that the device is unauthorised.

[back to top]