Committee description

Council is the University’s governing body, and has ultimate responsibility for the management of the University, its status as a body in receipt of public funds, and its status as an exempt Charity. It has a membership of 21, including, senior managers, representatives of Senate and the President of the Guild of Students, and a majority of lay members (who are neither employees nor students of the University).

The President of Council is drawn from the lay membership and chairs its meetings. The current President of Council is The Earl of Derby, DL.

Council has four business meetings a year, and two Away Days. 

Primary responsibilities

Council’s powers and duties are detailed in Statute 9 of the University’s Statutory Framework.

Members or key people

Clerk to the Council: Dr A Fairclough

Ex Officio Members

The Pro-Chancellor Vacant
The Vice-Chancellor Professor Dame Janet Beer, BA, MA, PhD
Three* of the Pro-Vice-Chancellors
Professor Gavin Brown, BSc, PhD
Professor Anthony Hollander, BSc, PhD
The President of the Guild of Students Mr Sean Turner
Two other Lay Officers appointed by the Council
Dr Andrew Scott, MA, DPhil (2017-2020)

Nine Lay Members (including the President and Vice-President of the Council) appointed by the Council

Mrs Carmel Booth, BA, FCA (2016-2019)

Mr Sam Butler, BA, MSc (2017-2020)

The Earl of Derby, DL (2017-2020) (President)
Mr Ed Fishwick (2017-2020)
Mr Christopher Graham, BA (2016-2019) (Vice-President)
Dr Paul Johnson, BSc, PhD (2017-2020)

Dame Lorna Muirhead, DCVO, DBE, CStJ, SRN, SCM, MTD, FRCM, FRCOG, FJMU, Hon LLD (2016-2019)

Dr Roger Platt, BSc, PhD, MA, PhD (2017-2020)
Mrs Abila Pointing, MBE, DL, MA (2016-2019)

Mrs Patricia Young, BA (2016-2019)

Four members of the Senate, three appointed by the Council on the recommendation of the Nominations Committee and one elected from and by Senate’s elected membership

Professor Fiona Beveridge, LLB, MPhil (appointed 2016-2018)
Professor Susan Dawson, BVMS, PhD, MRCVS (appointed 2016-2019)
Professor Bruce Gibson, MA, DPhil (elected 2017-2020)

*        The change from two to three of the three Pro-Vice-Chancellors is subject to approval by the Privy Council.

†        Notwithstanding the provisions of Statute 8.1.2, the lay member category of membership currently comprises ten members, rather than nine.  

Meeting dates

Dates for the current session are as follows:

  • 4 October 2017, Away Day
  • 23 November 2017, 2.00 pm
  • 7 February 2018, 2.00 pm
  • 18 April 2018, Away Day
  • 16 May 2018, 2.00 pm
  • 4 July 2018, 2.00 pm

A full schedule of Committee meeting dates can be viewed here.


You can download the minutes of our Council's recent business meetings below: