Honorary Degree Nominations

Nominations are invited for the conferment of honorary degrees in 2020. 

Nominations will be considered by the Joint Committee on Honorary Degrees with a view to making recommendations to the Senate and the Council.  

The practice of conferring honorary degrees at ceremonies at which our students graduate certainly adds to those occasions and the University seeks to identify recipients who will inspire and interest our students and their guests. 

At the ceremonies last year, honorary degrees were conferred on:

  • Dr Maria Balshaw
  • Professor Dame Jane Dacre
  • Dr Clemency Fisher
  • Dr Peter Gallagher
  • John Higgins
  • Paul May
  • David McDonnell
  • Jonathan Rushworth

Those considered for honorary degrees might include: distinguished academics who are pre-eminent in their field; individuals who have achieved national or international eminence in public life or a particular activity (for example in industry, commerce and business, the arts in all its forms, media, or sport); and individuals who have given a particular service to the University or made outstanding contributions to the city or region. It is always helpful to the success of a nomination if the individual concerned has a connection with the University or the region or if a nomination is associated with a particular event such as a conference or anniversary. The University would not normally confer honorary degrees on serving UK politicians or current members of staff.

The Joint Committee on Honorary Degrees would be very pleased to consider any nominations you may wish to make.  Nominations should be submitted in strict confidence and should not be divulged to the person nominated.

The deadline for the receipt of nominations is Friday, 29 March 2019.

Further information is available from the Secretary to the Joint Committee on Honorary Degrees:

Emma Leonard
Governance Manager
Tel: 0151 794 2170
Email: e.leonard@liverpool.ac.uk

A list of our Honorary Graduates can be viewed here.

To submit your nomination please click here.