BPS announce AJ Clark PhD studentship award

Published on

The British Pharmacological Society awards 1 or 2 PhD studentships anually after submission of a full application and interview with eminent members of the society.

James Line has been announced as one of this year's recipients. James previously completed a two month studentship at the MRC Centre for Drug Safety Science with Professor Dean Naisbitt, studying the molecular and cellular basis of Dapsone Hypersensitivity Syndrome. He will now be investigating pathways of drug-specific T-cell activation in patients with allergic drug reactions under the supervision of Professor Naisbitt, Professor Dave MacEwan and Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed.

James said: "I am extremely excited to embark on the next few years of my scientific career, working closely together with the British Pharmacological Society and University of Liverpool’s Department of Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology. I am hugely grateful for the opportunity and am honoured to represent both the BPS and the AJ Clark Studentship. I cannot thank the society and my supervisors enough and look forward to getting stuck into my studies and playing more of a role in society meetings."