Athena Swan

Athena SWAN

The School of the Arts are currently working towards the Equality Challenge Unit's (ECU) Athena SWAN Charter for an institutional Bronze Award. Here you will find information about the work we are doing to improve gender equality within the School.

Established in 2005 the Athena SWAN Charter encourages and recognises commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research.

In May 2015 the charter was expanded to recognise work undertaken in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law (AHSSBL), and in professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students. The charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

ECU’s Athena SWAN Charter covers women (and men where appropriate) in:

  • academic roles in STEMM and AHSSBL
  • professional and support staff
  • trans staff and students

In relation to their:

  • representation
  • progression of students into academia
  • journey through career milestones
  • working environment for all staff

Athena SWAN Principles

The Athena SWAN Charter is based on ten key principles. By being part of Athena SWAN, institutions are committing to a progressive charter; adopting these principles within their policies, practices, action plans and culture. For more information visit ECU’s Athena SWAN Charter website.


Our Self-Assessment Team includes representatives from a wide breadth of roles, grades and levels of study within the School, including members of academic, management and professional services staff.

Chair and Leads
Professor Peter Buse Dean of School, Chair
Professor Sara Cohen Academic Lead
Miss Samantha D'Arcy Professional Services Lead
Academic Staff Members
Ms Sandy Britton Architecture
Dr Yannis Tzioumakis School Director of Postgraduate Research
Dr Ekaterina Balabanova Communication and Media
Miss Caterina Guardamagna English
Dr Freya Jarman Music
Mr Oliver Downing Philosophy
Dr Laura Gow Philosophy
Professional Services Members
Mr Steve Winterton  Head of School Operations
Dr Michael Beiert Technical Services
Mr Michael Longworth Operation Support Team
Mr Jonny Davis Le Brun  Marketing, Recruitment and Events Team
Dr Helen Thomas Marketing, Recruitment and Events Team 
Dr Giles Hooper Music, School Strategy Lead - Data Analysis Advisor only
Invited Members
Miss Sally Middleton Equality Officer