Guest Lecture Series

Each semester the Liverpool School of Architecture holds a quest lecture series, with noted practitioners from the fields Architecture, Design and Art invited to speak to our undergraduate and postgraduate cohorts.

For any queries please contact Sandy Britton on sandy.britton@liverpol.ac.uk

All lectures are free open access events, however in some cases prior booking via EventBrite is required.

For information on previous years lectures, click the relevent tabs below.

Spring Semester Lectures 2017


25th January 2017

Marco De Michelis

Marco De Michelis

Budden Lecture Theatre,

5.00pm

Read more

Tuesday 31st January 2017

Marco De Michelis

Life By Design

Budden Lecture Theatre,
Booking Required
11.30am to 1.00pm

Read more

Thursday 2nd February 2017

Deyan Sudjic

Deyan Sudjic

Budden Lecture Theatre,

5.00pm

Read more

Thursday 9th February 2017

A Gendered Profession

A Gendered Profession

Ruth Morrow and James Soane

Budden Lecture Theatre, 5.00pm

Read more

March 16th February 2017

What is the objective of architectural education?

What is the objective of architectural education?

Michael Wilford, Patrick Lynch Dave King

Budden Lecture Theatre, 5.00pm

Read more

Tuesday 21st March 2017

Dunlop Link

The North American Gridiron City

Professor Alan Dunlop

Budden Lecture Theatre, 1.00pm

Read more

Thursday 23rd March 2017

Damascus

Threats and Opportunities in Post-war Reconciliation

Dr. Ataa Alsalloum

Budden Lecture Theatre, 5.00pm

Read more

Tuesday 28th March 2017

Ethics and Morality

Ethics and Morality: A discussion

Ian Ritchie, Alan Dunlop, Nick Ray, Michael Wilford and Dr Rosa Urbano Gutierrez, hosted by Johanna Muszbek

Budden Lecture Theatre, 7.00pm

Read more

Thursday 30th March 2017

Ethic or Aesthetic-link

Ethic or Aesthetic?

Simon Henley from architects Henley Halebrown

Reilly Lecture Theatre, 1.00pm

Read more

Thursday 27th April 2017

 Daniel Glenn

Contemporary Indigenous Architecture: Recent Works 

Daniel Glenn

Budden Lecture Theatre, 5.00pm

Read more

Thursday 4th May 2017

LSA-Future Link

The LSA - an architecture school's future? 

Michael Wilford, Patrick Lynch, Dave King, Roger Stephenson, Prof Soumyen Bandyopadhyay, hosted by Ms Johanna Muszbek

Budden Lecture Theatre, 5.00pm

Read more

Thursday 15th June 2017

Unknown Futures

School of Architecture Industry Night

The Liverpool School of Architecture, Leverhulme Building, Abercromby Square

4.00pm to 8.00pm

Read more

Autumn Semester Lectures 2016


Thursday 29th September

Raw Concrete

Barnabas Calder

Raw Concrete: The Beauty of Brutalism

Read More

Thursday 6th October

Japanese-Wood-Craftsmanship Small

Hugh Miller

Japanese Wood Craftsmanship

Read More

Thursday 13th October

Mimesis

Patrick Lynch

'Mimesis'

Read More

Thursday 20th October

Farm Urban

Paul Myers and Jens Thomas

Farm Urban: Urban food Production

Read more

Thursday 10th November

Alun Jones   Dow Jones Architects Title - An Idea About Construction

Alun Jones

An Idea About Construction

Read more

Thursday 17th November

CJ Lim Food City

CJ Lim

Food City

Read more

Thursday 24th November

Architecture School Debate

Visiting Professors Discuss 'architecture school'

Stirling Gallery
5.30 pm - 6.30 pm

Read more

Thursday 1st December

Fiona Mclachlan

Professor Fiona Mclachlan

Ethereal Material: Colour Strategies in Architecture

Photo: Urs Siegenthaler Zurich

Read more

Thursday 8th December    

Dr Polly Gould

Dr Polly Gould

No More Elsewhere: Antarctica though the Archive of the Edward Wilson (1872-1912) Watercolours

Read more