Current postgraduate researchers and PhD topics

Archaeology of Human Origins

Benton, Adam (hsabento@liv.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Archaeological evidence for the role of demography in human evolution" (supervisors: Matt Grove, John Gowlett; research group: Archaeology of Human Origins).

Boote, Kristian (hskboote@student.liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Reassessment of the obstetric dilemma, and the origin of birth assistance behavior in hominins” (supervisors: Matt Grove, John Gowlett; research group: Archaeology of Human Origins).

Caris, Adam (a.caris@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Investigations into the onset of the earliest deliberate hominin-fire interactions” (supervisors: John Gowlett, Robin Crompton; research group: Archaeology of Human Origins).

Coe, Dominic (dcoe@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Testing the 'efficiency hypothesis' of hafted tool technology” (supervisors: Lawrence Barham, Robin Crompton; research group: Archaeology of Human Origins).

Fairlie, Joanna (hsjfairl@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Getting a handle on it:  A first step towards understanding the cognitive evolutionary processes that underlie changes in the archaeological record relating to Pliocene and Pleistocene hand-held tool and hafted tool technologies” (supervisors: Lawrence Barham, Matt Grove; research group: Archaeology of Human Origins).

Farrar, Shelley (S.Farrar@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “A study of post-cranial indicators of primate sexual dimorphism: implications for understanding hominin palaeoecology” (supervisors: Matt Grove, Jessica Pearson; research group: Archaeology of Human Origins).

 

Early Village Societies

Ameen, Carly (cameen@liverpool.co.uk) – Thesis topic: "A new look at an old friend: A geometric morphometric approach to quantifying canid morphological variation and identifying domestication" (supervisors: Keith Dobney, Kate Britton (University of Aberdeen); research group: Early Village Societies).

Biedermann, Patrick (Patrick.Biedermann@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “From Clay- to Stone-Architecture - Urbanism, monumentality and political change in Northern Syria based on Steinbau I (Area A) at Tell Chuera, Syria“ (supervisors: Douglas Baird, Magnus Widell; research groups: Early Village Societies, Mediterranean Archaeology).

Campbell, Lorrae (lorrae12@liverpool.as.uk) – Thesis topic: "The Origins of British Hillforts: A comparative study of Late Bronze Age hill fort origins in the Atlantic West" (supervisors: Rachel Pope, Matthew Fitzjohn; research group: Early Village Societies).

Demicoli, Marvin (demivin@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The offshoot of urbanisation: a study of changes in woodland composition in relation to the rise of complex urban centres in Neolithic and Bronze Age North and Central China” (supervisors: Eleni Asouti, Douglas Baird, Dorian Q Fuller (UCL); research group: Early Village Societies).

Kewley, Katie (katie.kewley@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The Manx stone axe-head project: interconnection or isolation? The evidence from stone axe-heads for the Manx Neolithic in its Irish Sea context” (supervisors: Harold Mytum, Matthew Ponting, Liz Rushworth; research group: Early Village Societies).

Plug, Jo-Hannah (plugj@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The bare bones. Investigating burial practices, health and mobility in a changing late Neolithic world (Tell Sabi Abyad, Northern Syria)” (supervisors: Douglas Baird, Jessica Pearson, Eleni Asouti; research group: Early Village Societies).

Poggiali, Federico (fedepgi@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Environmental change and prehistoric landscape practices in the south-west Italian peninsula during the Pleistocene-Holocene transition: a study of anthracological remains from Grotta del Romito, Grotta della Serratura and Grotta d'Oriente" (supervisors: Eleni Asouti, Matthew Fitzjohn; research groups: Early Village Societies, Mediterranean Archaeology).

Rule, Edward James (merculie@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Here be dragons: A contextual analysis of the evidence for society and culture in the Iron Age of central western Britain” (Rachel Pope, Matthew Ponting; research group: Early Village Societies).

de Spretter, Eleanor (sa0u91ed@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Identity and Appearance in Iron Age Britain 1000-100 BC” (supervisors: Rachel Pope, Matthew Ponting; research group: Early Village Societies).

 

Mediterranean Archaeology

Brown, Daniel (hsdbrown@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Dressing the Tomb Paintings of Tarquinia via the application of a Hierarchical Clustering Analysis” (supervisors: Matthew Fitzjohn, Fiona Hobden; research group: Mediterranean Archaeology).

Caraway, Kate (k.caraway@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Tyranny, Population and Social Organisation in Archaic Greece” (supervisors: Zosia Archibald, Fiona Hobden; research group: Mediterranean Archaeology).

Gethin, Peter (peter.gethin@liverpool.co.uk) – Thesis topic: "Archaeometric examination of medieval ferruginous smithing slags collected from the sites of Tell Dhiban, Jordan and the Armenian Garden, Jerusalem, Israel" (supervisors: Matthew Ponting, Bruce Routledge; research group: Mediterranean Archaeology).

Gaynor, Joseph (joeyg@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The fallacy of the Minoan priesthood: Re-evaluating the importance of ritual specialism and ritual specialists in the Early Minoan mortuary contexts of south-central Crete” (supervisors: Matthew Fitzjohn, Christine Morris (Trinity College Dublin); research group: Mediterranean Archaeology).

James, Thomas (Thomas.James@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “What can the iconographic evidence from ancient south-eastern Turkey and north-western Syria tell us about the militaristic capabilities of these societies from c. 1000-600 BCE?” (supervisors: Bruce Routledge, Douglas Baird; research group: Mediterranean Archaeology).

Knight, John (J.B.Knight@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The Rule of Custom: The Context of Milesian Colonisation before 475 BCE” (supervisors: Alan Greaves, Phil Freeman; research group: Mediterranean Archaeology).

Longhitano, Gabriella (G.Longhitano@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Textile activity and its tools: indicators of cultural identity and interaction processes in Sicily and Aeolian Islands (XIII-VI century BC)” (supervisors: Lin Foxhall, Matthew Fitzjohn; research group: Mediterranean Archaeology).

Montesanto, Mariacarmela (m.montesanto@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "The Iron Age pottery assemblage from Tell Atchana/Alalakh" (supervisors: Bruce Routledge, Douglas Baird; research group: Mediterranean Archaeology).

Nicolosi, Serafina (serafina.nicolosi@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Imagining Miletos: Changing perceptions of the political, social and ethnic identity of the archaic city” (supervisors: Alan Greaves, Zosia Archibald; research group: Mediterranean Archaeology).

Socaciu, Dan (d.socaciu@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Regional identities in the kingdom of Urartu" (supervisors: Alan Greaves, Bruce Routledge; research group: Mediterranean Archaeology).

St Angelo, Dominick (D.St-Angelo@liverpool.ac.uk)– Thesis topic: “Greek Colonies City Wall/Fortifications Construction Modelling System” (supervisors: Matthew Fitzjohn, Alan Greaves; research group: Mediterranean Archaeology).

 

Historical Archaeology

Astill, Stacey (sastill@liverpool.ac.uk ) – Thesis topic: "Material culture and internment camp culture during World War II" (supervisors: Harold Mytum, Phil Freeman).

McDonough, James (J.M.Mcdonough@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “An Archaeological Examination of the British Sieges Undertaken by the Duke of Wellington during the Peninsular War” (supervisors: Phil Freeman, Douglas Baird).

Massheder-Rigby, Kerry (Kerry.Massheder-Rigby@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The housing experience of the working classes 1790-1970: the potential of the combined approach of archaeology, the historical record and oral history” (supervisors: Anthony Sinclair, Graeme Milne).

O’Leary, Tracey (T.Oleary1@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Wirral beyond Rome: archaeological perspectives on establishing a post-Roman cultural narrative” (supervisors: Zosia Archibald, Harold Mytum).

Swift, Helen (H.Swift@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Metalworkers’ Responses to Death and Burial in Rural Industrial Sheffield c. 1600-2000” (supervisors: Harold Mytum, Zosia Archibald).

Taylor, Peter (Peter.Taylor2@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “A New Trade: a documentary study of the trade in tobacco pipes prior to the English Civil War” (supervisors: Harold Mytum, Graeme Milne).

Wallace, Colin (wallacecolincol@netscape.net) ) – Thesis topic: “Writing and using the history of archaeology. Studies in the modern history of British archaeology and British archaeologists abroad” (supervisors: Phil Freeman, Anthony Sinclair).

 

Egyptology

Blakesley, Charlotte (C.E.Blakesley@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Courtroom Pragmatics: Analysis of Questions and Answers in the Tomb Robbery Papyri” (supervisors: Mark Collier, Roland Enmarch; research group: Egyptology).

Clayton, Joseph (joe1973@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The Element xr in Middle Egyptian” (supervisors: Mark Collier, Christopher Eyre; research group: Egyptology).

Cook, Samantha (slcook@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Aspects of the Technology of Ancient Egyptian Archery Equipment” (supervisors: Steven Snape, Bruce Routledge; research group: Egyptology).

Diniz, Silvana (S.Diniz@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Aspects of Royal Speeches in Narrative Royal Inscriptions of the New Kingdom" (supervisors: Roland Enmarch, Christopher Eyre; research group: Egyptology).

Garnett, Anna (agarnett@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Sacred Space and Religious Expression in the Egyptian Eastern Desert during the New Kingdom (1550-1069 BC)” (supervisors: Steven Snape, Christopher Eyre; research group: Egyptology).

Godfrey, Hannah (Hannah.Godfrey@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Language as Categorisation: Determinative usage in the hieroglyphic and hieratic scripts of the Old Kingdom" (supervisors: Roland Enmarch, Mark Collier; research group: Egyptology).

Morsi, Hamada (Hamada@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Gods of punishment in the ancient Egyptian Books of the Afterlife" (supervisors: Christopher Eyre, Roland Enmarch; research group: Egyptology).

Nagy, Zsuzsanna (z.nagy@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: Indeterminacy and Scribal Practice in the Late Ramesside Letters: Characteristics of Scribal Mechanisms Deployed in Hieratic to Determine Negative Aorists, ‘Not yet’ Forms, Second Tenses, Terminatives and Stative Formations (supervisors: Roland Enmarch, Mark Collier; research group: Egyptology).

Power, Dawn (dawn.power@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Aspects of Iconography and Transmission of the Book of Caverns" (supervisors: Roland Enmarch, Christopher Eyre; research group: Egyptology).

Reinhold, Kristine (K.Reinhold@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The Egyptian Concept of the Second Death” (supervisors: Roland Enmarch, Christopher Eyre; research group: Egyptology).

Sargent, Charlotte (c.sargent@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "The Conceptualisation, Expression, and Social Context of Friendship in Egypt in the 2nd Millennium BC" (supervisors: Roland Enmarch, Christopher Eyre; research group: Egyptology).

Slinger, Katherine (psksling@student.liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “New Kingdom private tomb distribution in the Theban necropolis” (supervisors: Steven Snape, Christopher Eyre; research group: Egyptology).

Spedding, Juliet (hsjspedd@student.liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “‘To See a World in a Grain of Sand’: The Relationship between Nubia and Egypt in the Napatan and Meroitic Periods seen through the Analysis of Glass Objects'” (supervisors: Violaine Chauvet, Matthew Ponting; research group: Egyptology).

Twiston Davies, Huw (H.Twiston-Davies@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "The transmission of the Instruction of Ani and the Instruction of Amenemope" (supervisors: Christopher Eyre, Roland Enmarch; research group: Egyptology).

Vickers, Natalie (hsnvicke@student.liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Stylistic and Linguistic Change in the Wisdom Literature of Middle and New Kingdom Egypt: A Sociolinguistic Approach to the Broadening of the Literary Class"(supervisors: Christopher Eyre, Mark Collier; research group: Egyptology).

Williams, Allison (Allison.Williams@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Tradition, Innovation and Archaism in Ancient Egypt: Manipulations in Artistic Design on 25th and 26th Dynasty Wooden Coffins" (supervisors: Violaine Chauvet, Christopher Eyre; research group: Egyptology).

 

Ancient Economies

George, Nicola (Nicola.George@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The production of coin blanks and Roman silver coins of AD 193 to AD 260" (supervisors: Matthew Ponting, Phil Freeman; research groups: Ancient Economies, Mediterranean Archaeology).

Johnson, Hannah (H.Johnson@liverpool.ac.uk)– Thesis topic: “Feeding the People: The Social and Economic Role of the Granary in Ur III Umma” (supervisors: Magnus Widdell, Douglas Baird; research group: Ancient Economies).

Kirby, Lucinda (hslkirby@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "The Administration of Law in Fourth Century Roman Egypt" (supervisors: Colin Adams, Roberta Mazza (University of Manchester), Christopher Tuplin; research group: Ancient Economies).

McDonald, Ruth (Ruth.Mcdonald@liverpool.ac.uk)– Thesis topic: “Roman ports of north-west England” (supervisors: Phil Freeman, Matthew Fitzjohn; research group: Ancient Economies).

Nikolova, Diana (dianatn@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Debasement and Economic Fluctuation in Greco-Roman Egypt: Chemical Analyses of Ptolemaic Coinage from Museum Collections in the British Northwest” (supervisors: Matthew Ponting, Glenn Godenho; research group: Ancient Economies).

Williams, R. Alan (R.A.Williams@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The Great Orme Bronze Age copper mine: Linking ores to metalwork and identifying exchange networks” (supervisors Matthew Ponting, Rachel Pope; research group: Ancient Economies).

Zhang, Ruiqi (r.zhang14@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The export porcelain from Jingdezhen, China” (supervisors: Matthew Ponting, Magnus Widell; research group: Ancient Economies).

 

Classics & Ancient History

 

Receptions

Clare, Ross (R.A.Clare@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Ancient Worlds in Contemporary Videogames" (Supervisors: Fiona Hobden, Colin Adams; research group: Receptions).

Brighouse, Phyllis (pbrig@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Classics, Youth and Empire, 1919-1939" (Supervisors: Thomas Harrison (University of St Andrews), Bruce Gibson; research group: Receptions).

Pelgrift, Henry Curtis (henrypel@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Object Biographies and the Secondary Lives of Archaeological Objects in Museum Collections" (supervisors: Bruce Routledge, Glenn Godenho; research group: Receptions).

Quine, Lucy (L.Quine@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "Herodotus in Modernity" (supervisors: Fiona Hobden, Thomas Harrison (University of St Andrews); research group: Receptions).

Santa, Bela (B.Santa@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Hungarian scholarship and the Roman Empire in late 19th century” (supervisors: Zosia Archibald, Phil Freeman; research group: Receptions).

Taietti, Guendalina Daniela Maria (gtaietti@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The Greek Reception of Alexander the Great” (supervisors: Christopher Tuplin, Thomas Harrison (University of St Andrews); research group: Receptions).

 

Ancient Religions

Doherty-Bone, Victoria (hsvdoher@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Criticism of the divine and misotheism in drama, and its role in the religious festival of the Dionysia” (supervisors: Fiona Hobden, Alexey Zadorozhny; research group: Ancient Religions).

Ford, James (J.Ford@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “Atheism in Ancient Greek Religion” (supervisors: Fiona Hobden, Thomas Harrison (University of St Andrews); research group: Ancient Religions).

 

Literary Culture of the Roman Empire

Sanderson, Elaine (E.C.Sanderson@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: Lucanian Transformations: The Necromancy Episode and the Resurrection of Rome” (supervisors: Bruce Gibson, Alexei Zadorozhny; research group: Literary Culture of the Roman Empire).

 

Ancient History

Cronshaw, Ross (Ross.Cronshaw@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The evolution of the Roman auxilia as a battlefield unit” (supervisors: Phil Freeman, Mytum Harold).

Norris, Peter (P.A.Norris@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: “The structure and evolution of the Roman army from the late Republic to the Principate” (supervisors: Phil Freeman, Matthew Fitzjohn).

Randles, Steven (s.randles@liverpool.ac.uk) – Thesis topic: "The Athenian Defeat in Sicily - The Reasons for its Failure" (supervisors: Fiona Hobden, Christopher Tuplin).

Tsakiridis, Ioannis (Ioannis.Tsakiridis@liverpool.ac.uk) “Plutarch's Life of Aratos and the Hellenistic era” (supervisors: Christopher Tuplin, Zosia Archibald, Alexey Zadorozhny).